History

Dating back to the 18th century the buildings played an instrumental part in the valleys rich copper mining industry.

Mining for copper in the valley dates back to the 16th century and the area continued to be mined until the 1950’s. In 1982 the buildings in the valley were purchased by The Coppermines Lakes Cottages founder Philip Johnston who set about a comprehensive scheme of rebuilding, restoration and conservation.

The buildings were sympathetically restored from the original Victorian sawmill and four warm and welcoming cottages were created (sleeping 22) which today form our unique mountain venue.