Dating back to the 18th century the buildings played an instrumental part in the valleys rich copper mining industry.
Mining for copper in the valley dates back to the 16th century and the area continued to be mined until the 1950’s. In 1982 the buildings in the valley were purchased by The Coppermines Lakes Cottages founder Philip Johnston who set about a comprehensive scheme of rebuilding, restoration and conservation.
The buildings were sympathetically restored from the original Victorian sawmill and four warm and welcoming cottages were created (sleeping 22) which today form our unique mountain venue.
The Copper Barn, now licenced for civil ceremonies, was the originally the mine’s copper store. 3,000 tonnes of copper ore have passed through The Copper Barn. 20 wagon loads, pulled by horses, were taken down to the village every day. From here the copper ore was transported down the lake on barges and then later was transported around the country via the railways.
Couples have been able to hold their wedding celebrations at the Mountain Venue since 2004. Today, weddings are a regular occurance at The Coppermines with all types of wedding, large and small, taking place all year round.